CHURCH HISTORY

It may come as a surprise to some members who read this history to learn that the name of their church has not always been Vanderhorst Memorial C.M.E. Church, Inc. It was once named Cumberland Methodist Church.

In 1861 the original Cumberland Methodist Church was destroyed by fire. That building was situated on Cumberland Street between Meeting and Church Streets. After the fire, the members of Cumberland Church united with Trinity Methodist Church in downtown Charleston.

Seeing the need for a church to serve what was then the growing Northeastern section of Charleston, some of the original Cumberland Methodist Church members in 1881 formed a mission.

The mission was a store building at 38 Aiken Street. A congregation of thirteen white Methodists met regularly at the mission. Their first pastor was Rev. J. E. Beard.

The group multiplied in numbers, and two years later in 1883 the Rev. J. E. Beard and his congregation erected its first sanctuary at 66 Hanover Street between Line and Columbus Streets.

In 1912 a small group of colored people who had moved here from Walterboro and the Colleton County area decided that they wanted a C.M.E. Church in Charleston. After hearing that the church at 66 Hanover Street was for sale, they contacted the Rev. J. T. Peeler and congregation and was able to purchase the church.

Cumberland Church began the erection of a substantial brick building at the corner of America and Hampton Court which they later sold to the Roman Catholic Church. They then moved in 1928 to 754 Rutledge Avenue. The church's name was changed from Cumberland Methodist to Asbury Memorial United Methodist Church.

The colored congregation worshiped at 66 Hanover Street under the name of Cumberland C.M.E. Church for a few years, and then the name was changed to Vanderhorst Memorial C.M.E. Church, which was named in honor of Bishop Richard Vanderhorst, who was a native of South Carolina. The C.M.E. stood for Colored Methodist Episcopal; however, it was later changed to mean Christian Methodist Episcopal.

After many years of worshipping in the church, its structure began to deteriorate and was badly in need of renovation. The church was remodeled on its present site in 1966 under the leadership of Rev. E. J. McWoodson.

On September 21, 1989 Hurricane Hugo, a devastating storm, swept through the Charleston area and left Vanderhorst with major structural damage. Under the leadership of Rev. Moses Doyle, the members decided to construct a new edifice.

While the new sanctuary was being constructed, services were held at the YMCA on Cannon Street for approximately seven years. In 1998 under the leadership of Rev. Jack Brown, Jr., the members marched into the new church.

The following are some of the major accomplishments that have been made under the leadership of Pastor and Presiding Elder, Rev. Jetson Ronzell Maness:

- CHURCH CORNER STONE Installed and dedicated.
- PARSONAGE Conducted maintenance upkeep on a regular basis.
- MEDIA MINISTRY Implemented and expanded.
- SECURITY SYSTEM Updated.
- NEW SOUND SYSTEM Installed
- COMPUTER TABLES Built and installed.
- SANCTUARY DOORS Installed see through windows.
- HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING UNITS Helped with the maintenance and upkeep.
- CHURCH EXTERIOR LIGHTS Replaced.
- MORTGAGE BURNING CELEBRATIONS June 2018.
- CHURCH STEEPLE Installed in May 2020.
- CHURCH DEEDS Updated and signed on November 28, 2020.
- 62 HANOVER STREET Currently helping with the restoration of the church historic property.

Rev. Maness pocessed the pastoral gifts of teaching and delivering the words of God to his members even in the midst of a historic COVID-19 Coronavirus Pandemic. Jeremiah 3:15 states, "I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding."

The church is proud to have the family of the late Rev. Arthur J. Simmons, who was one of the founders of Vanderhorst Memorial C.M.E. Church, as a current members of the church. Rev. Simmons' daughter, the late Sis. Margaret Simmons Orr, is credited for having compiled the church early history.

The members welcome with open hearts and arms Rev. Jacob B. Teasdell who was appointed Pastor of the church at the 2022 Annual Conference.

The church has had 35 pastors over the past 110 years. They are as follows:

1. Rev. C. R. Golphin 18. Rev. C. A. Shaw

2. Rev. A. J. Roberts 19. Rev. S. J. Smith

3. Rev. C. D. Jackson 20. Rev. Edward D. McWoodson

4. Rev. C. D. Price 21. Rev. W. C. Flannagan

5. Rev. L. R. Kibler 22. Rev. J. L. Sloan

6. Rev. M. A. Davis 23. Rev. David W. Reynolds

7. Rev. J. M. Pettigrew 24. Rev. Satchell Doyle, Sr.

8. Rev. M. L. Littlejohn 25. Rev. Moses Doyle

- 9. Rev. J. H. Thomas
- 10. Rev. J. L. Pickens
- 11. Rev. J. A. Jowers
- 12. Rev. A. L. Goodwin
- 13. Rev. J. A. Brodie
- 14. Rev. A. H. Harris
- 15. Rt. Rev. N. L. Linsey
- 16. Rev. R. B. Ingram
- 17. Rev. C. E. Carr

- 26. Rev. Jack Brown, Jr.
- 27. Rev. William Austin and Rev. Beverlyann Austin
- 28. Rev. Kenneth Downing
- 29. Rev. Dr. Ransom Coard, Jr.
- 30. Rev. Clifton E. Harris, Jr.
- 31. Rev. Derrick A. Price
- 32. Rev. Maurice L. Bolden
- 33. Rev. Omar L. Dykes
- 34. Rev. Jetson Ronzell Maness
- 35. Rev. Jacob B. Teasdell